Tuesday, May 31, 2005

Answering Natures Call


Four Amigos
Originally uploaded by smooth123.
4 guys in Shandoah Park for Memorial Day

Our first trip camping, was a great success. Though not everything went as planned, planned? nothing was planned everything just came together at the last minute. We rented a car, checked out the states with the beter weather, did a bit of shopping and were on our way...
Well shopping took some time coz we had to buy everything..
Tent, Grill, sleeping bags, food etc.

We finally got goin at about 3:00. the drive to virginia from NJ was good, though NJ turnpike never disappoints you with its traffic. Our casual journey got us in trouble tough caused we reached the park a little late and had to make do staying in a motel for the night.



King of the Jungle

We started our day with the ideal breakfast of 1 pizza slice. Doesnt sound too good huh, but thats all we could find.
Finally we entered the park and drove miles before we foud a trail to trek. Novices that we were, we just started rekking and ended up walking for bout 14 miles. was a trying journey. The good part of the trek was the waterfall we finally got to see, and also the 5 foot rattle snake that we saw on the road.






CampFire

We came to camping ground only to find it full, but by pure luck and a little sleight we managed to get a place to camp. AJ and Arun went about setting the tent while Kannan and I went to get food and wood as the food we bought had gone bad.

All in all the night was god we managed to get a fire going and were the only ones awake till 12:00. thats how long our wood lasted we timed it well with our drinks.

Sleeping on the ground and watching a clear sky reminded me of my days in Bombay when we go to the terrace to watch the stars.

we finally packed our bags and got back the next day, my body aching because of the trek, but my soul satisfied with the expereince in the forest. Feels good to get back with nature.

Like old McDonald said If I had a farm Id go E ai E ai Oh.


A few more pics





Tuesday, May 24, 2005

Last of the Mohicans



The 3 Amigos from IBM. Vinod, Eric n Me. The unheard and untalked about party that the guys had before the group at Eli Lilly split.
We started out at Buffalo wild wings or BW3 as it is known with a bunch of different wings and ended up singing karaoke at Gatsby's. The latter half of the night is uneventful and so will not be written about.

As Dr Eric Said "It is important to Network".

Here are some of the other pics for the night
Dr Eric Pepper................




The Flaming Shot.........




EIGERMEISTER Sour Face........





The Sleeping Singer.........



Friday, May 20, 2005

3 point Shooter in the Rye

Watched a really emotional duel on ABC yesterday. The 6th game between the Pacers and the Pistons. The Pistons proved themselves to be champions and trounced the pacers. But the Pacers put their best in, knowing that if they lost it would be Reggie Millers last game. Man I love that guy, a fast dying breed he belongs to (superstars with no qualms botu themselves). The 3 point shooter showed of yesterday as well why the ball is always safest in his hands. I have watched him for a long time and the ease with which he got those points from beyond the arc always amazed me. I remember his valiant effort going down to an even better effort by Michael Jordan in the Eastern Conference Finals. I also remembered the 24 - 25 point something that he shot in the last quarter against the knocks...man that was a remarkable game.

Having lived in Indiana I know the love people there have for this immensely kind hearted player. A true inspiration for any NBA player, he also belongs to another dying breed that of a player having played 18 some years for the same team. Thats team loyalty. Today its hard to name a team and brand a player with that team in NBA. For me I place him in the league of greats like Charles Barkley (76ers) and Ewing (Knicks).

Though I support the pistons the ovation towards the end of the game made me also wish for another game from Reggie.

My all time favorite clutch time 3 point shooter.
"Reggie Miller".

Labels:


Wednesday, May 18, 2005

Pleasant Points

This Weekend we went over to the beach at Pleasant Point. We signifying, Nikhil aka baccha, Arun aka mallu, Kannan aka VK, AJ and me. The drive was a nice pleasant one on the Parkway, weather not too bad. The morning sky was cloudy, propending signs of a damp day, but the day got better and so did our enthusiasm. We packed a case of beer and headed for the beach. Tis always fun going travelling in a packed car, especially as I was tucked comforatbly in the drivers seat, and the pillion riders were squirming for space. Besides, it does not make sense passing comments at people when ure alone .

We finally reached the beach and hit our first major snarl, PARKING. we spent bout 20 minutes looking for a parking spot, and finally all of us agreed that it made sense to pay for parking in one of the 5$ lots. All set after the parking we hit the sand. First time I had seen the ocean in 1.5 years. For me the sea is like a second home, having been born in Bombay and a native of GOA, i've lived my entire life close to the sea. I missed my regular trips to the beach at Manori, or to Calagute/Baga after i came down to the US. Was dissapointed with the fact that we were not allowed to park tent and open up our beers on the beach. ( GOA rules....nothing better than a Kingfisher on the sand). The weather was a tad colder than we'd expected it to be, and the water was too cold for swimming. The cons of not planning the trip, we landed at the beach with no gear. So all we did was slept on the sand, watched other beach goers stroll along, ogled at some fine women, passed comments at the odd couple and got ready to come back...I know the experience doesnt make for a very fine one at the beach, but just going to the sea was relaxing for me....nothing more calming to the eyes than the sight of blue waters for as far as you can see. Somehow that seems to relax me to a great extent.

Like my grandfather says "Water Water everywher but not a beer to drink".

Thursday, May 12, 2005

Slow Dance

Heres a wonderful poem that was sent to me by mail, No you dont have to forward it to anyone and no you wont be cursed or blessed if you read it, no child is going to benefit from it and no you will not receive any money from Bill for reading it....still go ahead and read it...I for one found it a tad helpful...

SLOW DANCE

Have you ever watched kids
On a merry-go-round?
Or listened to the rain
Slapping on the ground?
Ever followed a butterfly's erratic flight?
Or gazed at the sun into the fading night?
You better slow down.
Don't dance so fast.
Time is short.
The music won't last.

Do you run through each day
On the fly?
When you ask How are you?
Do you hear the reply?
When the day is done
Do you lie in your bed
With the next hundred chores
Running through your head?
You'd better slow down
Don't dance so fast.
Time is short.
The music won't last.

Ever told your child,
We'll do it tomorrow?
And in your haste,
Not see his sorrow?
Ever lost touch,
Let a good friendship die
Cause you never had time
To call and say,"Hi"
You'd better slow down.
Don't dance so fast.
Time is short.
The music won't last.


When you run so fast to get somewhere
You miss half the fun of getting there.
When you worry and hurry through your day,
It is like an unopened gift....
Thrown away.
Life is not a race.
Do take it slower
Hear the music
Before the song is over.

Wheres my woman friday

I long every week for a friday to come...dont have any plans for the weekend yet, besides watching the games on TNT...(GO Pistons) but I know the moment the clock strikes 4:00 PM some plan will get devised....most of the time its go out and get drunk on friday...lay back hungover on sat then watch the game on Sunday....well it is a bit predictable...but what the hell I like it that way....to make things interesting I drink on saturdays too....and to go the limit get drunk and land up for work on Monday hungover...well that used to happen a lot earlier...but now that I try and make sunday a rest day....after all it is the the Seventh Day

well am gonna have fun this weekend..am really pumped up bout the game...the pistons against indiana....ama a little conflicted on my support coz though Im all for the wallaces, it is Reggie Millers last season..never seen anyone just pick a ball and throw a 3 pointer like he does.... gotta go and get my snacks and beer for the game....

The weathers gonna be good this weekend..hope I can catch a glimpse of the beach...get wet...and fry some fish.....

Like Chaddha said "Fish by the beach.."

Labels:


Monday, May 09, 2005

Work Work and no Work


This monday to Friday 9 to 5 jobs really killing me. I need more flexible timings. Actually I have flexible timings, wonder what I 'm cribbing about then. I guess its in my nature to crib, but this job really sucks. I'd be better suited to this kind of work when I'm older. Right now I like to be bludgeoned with a whole lot of work to do. No time to think, just work and party. This realxing job is ruining my party life. Theres no reason to get drunk when ure relaxed all week. No reason to whine about work or bitch about your boss.

I like the old times better, slog during the week, and party on the weekends. Relaxing during the week makes me feel old, gives me a lot of time to think about a lot of things i dont want to think about right now.

I had an excuse earlier on, not to stay healthy, now I have all the time in the world to hit the gym, which made me realise that time was not the reason I didn't exercise, I am just plain lazy.

Well I know I ought not to complain, but if I stay content with what I have that'll make me an inhuman and I'm not quiet ready for that post as yet.

Cheers I say then to all ye hard workers, and to all lazy boozards like me.
Like my grandpa said "A fried mackeral and a shot of feni, thats the good life. "







This page is powered by Blogger. Isn't yours?